Close this search box.

ADS Research Advisory Committee

ADS Research Advisory Committee

The Australian Diabetes Society Council established the Research Advisory Committee (RAC) in 2021 and is a key strategic pillar on the operations and functions of the organisation. Members are appointed by an expression of interest from the membership on an initial two-year term.


Chair: Prof Josephine Forbes
Members: Prof Alicia Jenkins, Prof Christopher Nolan, Dr David McIntyre, A/Prof John Wentworth, Dr Ryan Jalleh, Dr Magdalene Montgomery, 
Dr Matthew Hare, A/Prof Melkam Kebede, Dr Trevor Biden, Ms Taryn Black, Dr Sof Andrikopoulos


(c) The ADS (Society) Research Advisory Committee (RAC or Committee) is a subcommittee of the Society, and provides advice to the Society’s Council (Council).
(d) The RAC aims to promote and support high quality scientific research in diabetes.


(c) RAC’s functions are:

(i) to provide advice to the Council on advocacy on research priorities both internally and externally facing and lead the National Diabetes Research Agenda for advocacy with Government;
(ii) to review and update eligibility, scope, funding and information regarding research grants administered by the Society;
(iii) to provide research skills and development support to early career researchers;
(iv) to evaluate submissions and recommend research grant recipients to the Council for ratification;
(v) to ensure the Society’s continued contribution to the strategic direction of Diabetes Australia Research Program and other relevant funding bodies;
(vi) to assist in the development of the scientific program for the annual scientific meeting; and
(vii) such other functions as are reasonably determined by the Council.

(d) Office bearers and members of the Committee or any subcommittee of the Committee, must obtain expressed written permission from the Council or President of the Council before purporting to act or communicate on behalf of the Society or
the Council.