Close this search box.

ADS Advocacy/Advice Advisory Committee

ADS Advocacy/Advice Advisory Committee

The Australian Diabetes Society Council established the Advocacy/Advice Advisory Committee (AAC) in 2021 and is a key strategic pillar on the operations and functions of the organisation. Members are appointed by an expression of interest from the membership on an initial two-year term.


Chair: Prof Anthony Russell
Members: Dr Anna McLean, Dr Emma Hamilton, A/Prof Glynis Ross, A/Prof Jonathan Shaw, Prof Josephine Forbes, Dr Karin Jandeleit-Dahm, Dr Mary White, Dr Natassia Rodrigo, A/Prof Stephen Stranks, Dr Tomasz Block, Ms Taryn Black, Dr Sof Andrikopoulos


(a) The ADS (Society) Advocacy Advisory Committee (AAC or Committee) is a subcommittee of the Society, and provides advice to the Society’s Council (Council).
(b) The AAC aims to synthesise high quality advocacy/advice in diabetes and putting these in action.


(c) AAC’s functions are:

(i) to provide advice to the Council on advocacy priorities;
(ii) to receive and synthesise advocacy requests from the divisions and other subcommittees of the Society;
(iii) to work with and establish a coordinated approach with Diabetes Australia, Australian Diabetes Educators Association and other groups as necessary on advocacy-related matters;
(iv) to provide advocacy and advice on workforce support and expansion;
(v) to enact advocacy on behalf of the ADS Council, its divisions and subcommittees;
(vi) to ensure established communication channels with ADS Council and its divisions and subcommittees as well as other advocacy groups including DA and ADEA;
(vii) such other functions as are reasonably determined by the Council.

(d) Office bearers and members of the Committee or any subcommittee of the Committee, must obtain express written permission from the Council or President of the Council before purporting to act or communicate on behalf of the Society or the Council.